Do you live in Metro Manila and nearby provinces?

If so, then you have to pay attention.


In 2015, the National Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Council (NDRRMC) with the other government agencies and non-government organizations released an Earthquake Contingency Plan for the Philippines.


Therein, the Philippine Institute of Volcanology and Seismology (PHIVOLCS) warned that in case of an earthquake in Metro Manila, the West Valley Fault spanning 100 kilometers which passes through Bulacan, Quezon City, Marikina, Pasig, Makati, Taguig, Muntinlupa, Rizal, Cavite and Laguna, may cause a 7.2 magnitude quake or higher.

Should “The Big One” happen, it is estimated that over 30,000 individuals may die and over 100,000 may be injured. The strong ground shaking may also result to the regional separation of Metro Manila to quadrants due to the collapse of buildings and bridges.

To carry out evacuation and rescue operations efficiently, the Metro Manila Development Authority (MMDA) divided Metro Manila into four quadrants. Each quadrant is designated an operation center and staging area which will also serve as evacuation camps.


Further, all athletic fields, sport arenas, memorial parks, churches and gyms that will be designated by the local government units (LGUs) will be used as evacuation centers for Metro Manila and nearby provinces. Pasig River will serve as an alternate route for rescue and relief personnel.

For more information, visit

Like PHIVOLCS on Facebook:

Follow them on Twitter:

Stay calm. Pray and prepare. Remember to DUCK, COVER & HOLD.

Signing out for now. Peace.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.